Friends?

As the readings from this week focused more on online existence, we begin to question when do we really begin to cross that boundary of being alive and online. This might be a bit of a drag but it’s reasonable to argue. When looking at social media and how it works, we took a closer look at facebook and how it’s functionality creates an empty space between us and the real world. When looking at facebook, we tend to focus on friends of friends, meaning, I amy not no you but we may have mutual friends and therefor, we have a potential to be friends. These affects more to those that are barely new to the system. I remember when I first created my facebook account, I added people that I knew and those that knew them. It was easier like that because I didn’t know who to add just did it at the beginning. Now, when i look back, I have 387 friends, I probably know about 50% of them, and about half of that half i really do talk to on a daily basis. The Faux Friendship reading points this out:

Far from being ordinary and universal, friendship, for the ancients, was rare, precious, and hard-won.

Now, anyone can request to be friends and they’re either accepted or declined but does that really mean they’re friends? Think about it, of course friendships have evolved at a rapid rate where from the “ancient times” friendships were earned and now, they’re a mere joke. Friendships are just acquaintances, and a true friend only exist if one lets it. Social media has created a world where everything can be done more efficiently yet we’re not sure who can we really trust. Even though I use facebook to interact with other “friends” I post things about me and about who I am just because in the end, there’s only a few that would actually look and provide feedback.

About jp214


Leave a Reply

